Schools in Tatham Fells 1816-1916

There was a Tatham Fell (no ‘s’) School before the present-day “Old School” was built. Mike Winstanley has looked into what is known about the “Old Old School”, and the circumstances that led to its replacement in 1863. He has also investigated a turbulent period following the 1870 Education Act, which led in 1875 to the addition of a new classroom (now the OS kitchen) and the placing of the school under full government inspection, along with the commencement of the School Logbook. Mike’s fascinating article concludes with changes up to  1916, including the addition of a cloakroom, new toilets, and a new name.

Click here to read

This entry was posted in Website news. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.